A collection of all my thoughts, concerns, excitements and questions about what my life will look, is like and was like ‘Living in The Netherlands.’

Since before moving to this beautiful little country called the Netherlands, I’ve been writing down short paragraphs and stories of my thoughts, concerns, excitements and questions about my life in the Netherlands. I’ll be posting them all here each day, and every time another pops into my mind and I write it down. Let me start with this one. Enjoy!

__
2 June

Today I realised that in a few weeks I will be living in a house, with Jessie, in the Netherlands. I made that sound so much more casual than it really is. I WILL BE LIVING IN THE NETHERLANDS!

Like, I have basically packed up my stuff and moved to a country on the other side of the world. Maybe only for 3 or so months, but nonetheless, 3 months of living in a foreign country! Yes, we will have a temporary residence status in the Netherlands, yes, we will have working visas, and yes, we will have our own house. Is this crazy or crazy?

Anyway, I’m excited to experience the life of an independent adult. I’ll have to cook, clean, wash the dishes, wash my own clothes, lock the house up at night, share responsibilities… The list goes on, and I’m sure you’re sitting there thinking, “um, Ben? Are you really excited about doing all that stuff?” And I’ll answer you right now with a yes. But deep down I know that after a month I’ll most likely get sick and tired of being responsible and want to sleep in until 12pm and let the dishes pile up until I have to start re-using them.

 

